Uninstalling Photo Mechanic 6 or Photo Mechanic Plus

If you have a license for Photo Mechanic and have activated it on the computer that you are going to remove it from, you will want to make sure to deactivate Photo Mechanic before you remove it from that computer.


Please see: How to deactivate Photo Mechanic for the steps to deactivate your license from your computer before uninstalling the software.


Follow the steps below for your operating system. After the application itself is uninstalled, there are a few other folders containing some supporting files that do not get removed by standard uninstall methods. Please note that these files are typically under a few megabytes in size. 

For MacOS

  1. Deactivate Photo Mechanic as described above
  2. Quit Photo Mechanic (Command+Q on your keyboard, or click on the Photo Mechanic menu in the Menu Bar and click Quit Photo Mechanic)
  3. Use the method for uninstalling via the Finder described in Apple's support documentation

Paths to additional folders and files on MacOS

  • /Users/username/Library/Caches/Photo Mechanic
  • /User/username/Library/Caches/com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic
  • /Library/Preferences/com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic6.activation
  • /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Camera Bits, Inc
  • In /Users/username/Library/Preferences/
    • Any file or folder that begins with ‘com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic’

For Windows

  1. Deactivate Photo Mechanic as described above
  2. Use the Remove option from the Photo Mechanic installer or one of the methods described in the Windows support documentation

Paths to Folders and files on Windows

  • C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Camera Bits, Inc
  • C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Camera Bits, Inc
  • C:\ProgramData\Camera Bits, Inc