Start a new topic

Add shutter speed and focal length to searchable fields in Catalog (previously more EXIF data)

As a landscape photographer I need all the exif info possible for filtering and browsing -ISO, shutter speed, aperture, focal length, metering mode, exposure mode, exp comp, white balance, etc  These are all available and I am extremely surprised that they are not available.  Every photo software I have ever used has all the exif displayed and can be filtered on.

9 people like this idea

Are you talking about making those available as searchable fields in the catalog or in regular contact sheets? 

Mariah Not sure if my reply went through. Both in searchable fields in the catalog and contact sheets would be the ultimate. If I could only get one I would choose in the catalog as this would also allow a saved filter that could be used for future filter searches and for a larger number of images. Prior to purchasing PM+ I was trialing Photo Supreme which is a nice pics if software with some stability issues. It searches on a large number of exif fields and was very quick to find even my 2 shoots at f32 out of 12,000. They also have avery nice tool for handling duplicate files - that would be very nice in PM+ Thanks in advance for hopefully making all the exif data fields available. Bob

We had to make some tough decisions about database size and which fields to index for the catalog. You can use variables in indexed fields as a workaround so that you can use them to filter results for now. If there's enough demand, we may also index the fields. The balancing act, like I said, is how large the catalog becomes as a result. 

Marziah

Thanks. I can appreciate your touch decisions.  Using the variables I can create some of my own snapshots, however, two of the most important variables are not listed - shutter speed and focal length.  If just those two variables were available for the custom search I would have everything I absolutely need and rely on.