Important! Critical information about Photo Mechanic Plus and MacOS Sonoma 14.3.

Backing up your Preferences and transferring them to another


Print This Article 

  All Keyboard Shortcuts 



    To export all of your preferences so you can move them to a new computer:

  1. Open up the Preferences window in Photo Mechanic®. 
  2. Select the “Export” button at the bottom.
  3. The “Export Preferences Settings” window will open with a list of all preferences to be exported
  4. Choose 'Select All' (unless you wish to only export specific preferences)
  5. Choose 'Export' and then save the file in a place that is easy to find (such as your desktop).
  6. Move the exported file (it will have a .PMX extension) to your other computer.
  7. Open Preferences in Photo Mechanic on the other computer. 
  8. Select the “Import” button at the bottom of the window and locate the .PMX file that you created on your other computer.
  9. Choose 'Select All' in this window (unless you'd only like to import specific preferences)
  10. You'll be notified that Photo Mechanic will now quit. Launch the application again and it will be using all of the imported preferences.
    Tip: If you no longer plan to use Photo Mechanic on the computer that you exported your preferences from, be sure to deactivate your license on the old computer.


   


Can't find what you were looking for?

Submit a ticket

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry About That!

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to improve this article