Settings and preferences

Adding Watermarks
The Watermarking dialog allows you to place watermarks over images from the following areas:  Save As, Export, Printing Proofs, Upload and Send Photos via E...
Mon, May 11, 2020 at 12:15 PM
Snapshots
The snapshot button is the lightning-bolt symbol that appears in many commonly used dialog boxes. Snapshots are used to make a copy of the dialog’s curren...
Fri, May 22, 2020 at 2:55 PM
Color management in Photo Mechanic
We recommend calibrating your monitor before working with color management. Photo Mechanic uses the system monitor profile to display color using ICC (Inter...
Tue, Dec 31, 2019 at 9:29 AM
Rendering RAW files on Photo Mechanic with Adobe DNG Converter
In Photo Mechanic 6, RAW rendering is handled through Adobe DNG Converter, which is a free download. Download and install DNG Converter.  In Photo Mechan...
Wed, Nov 20, 2019 at 11:48 AM
What is in the macOS Extras folder?
When you install Photo Mechanic on macOS, one of the optional items you can drag to your Applications folder is the Extras folder.  There are three...
Fri, May 8, 2020 at 11:36 AM
How to check for Photo Mechanic updates
You can check for Photo Mechanic updates either manually or automatically. Launch Photo Mechanic and navigate to Help> Software Update...  If the che...
Wed, Nov 20, 2019 at 11:08 AM
Using star ratings and color classes with Adobe Lightroom and other apps
Photo software, such as Adobe Lightroom Classic® and Apple Aperture® can recognize star ratings and color classes. However, in order for this to work, the t...
Tue, Jun 2, 2020 at 4:58 PM
General preferences
On startup: This is how you would like Photo Mechanic to behave when it launches. On mount of Camera Disk: This is what action you would like to happe...
Fri, Jun 12, 2020 at 4:01 PM
Contact sheet preferences
Selection Method: Three options on how a selection may be made. The default (first) option is the one most people will be familiar with.  Default Sorting...
Thu, Jun 11, 2020 at 2:47 PM
Files preferences
Move Photos to Trash/Recycle Bin: Check this box to move deleted items to your computer's Trash or Recycle Bin when possible instead of permanently d...
Fri, Jun 12, 2020 at 4:46 PM